dotsure.co.za review
Updated September 28, 2026 · SumCue Editorial Team · Facts checked September 26, 2026
We earn a commission when you sign up through links on this site. Partner status can affect where a brand appears in our rankings. Partners with a live offer in your country come first, then every other brand by score.
Our verdict
Dotsure suits South African households that want pet, car, home, motorcycle and life cover under a single insurer, with monthly payments on the dog pet policy. It scores 4.6 overall, and that breadth of cover is the reason to start here.
Key facts
- Best for
- Households wanting pet, car, home, motorcycle and life cover from a single South African insurer on monthly payments.
- Premium from
- ZAR 99↗
- Insurance types
- Pet, Auto, Home, Motorcycle, Life↗
- Provider type
- Insurer↗
- Monthly payments
- Yes↗
- Excess from
- ZAR 2,000↗
- Claims channels
- Online Manage Portal, Phone, Email↗
- Age range
- Drivers 20 to 80 years old↗
- Legal entity
- Dotsure Limited (Registration number 2006/000723/06)↗
- Headquarters
- South Africa↗
- Support channels
- Phone, Email, Help-centre↗
- Pricing model
- Monthly
- Official website
- dotsure.co.za
Facts checked September 26, 2026, 5 sources
Apps and profiles
- Elsewhere
- LinkedInXhellopeter.com
Pros and cons
Pros
- A single insurer covers pet, auto, home, motorcycle and life: pet, auto and home.
- Premiums can be settled on a monthly model rather than in one annual bill: monthly.
- Claims run through the online Manage Portal, phone or email: online Manage Portal, phone and email.
- Car cover is open to Drivers 20 to 80 years old.
Cons
- The dog pet policy carries an excess from ZAR 2,000, so smaller claims stay with the policyholder.
- Cover stops at pet, auto, home, motorcycle and life, so travel, health and gadget policies have to go elsewhere: pet, auto and home.
- Support runs on phone, email and help centre only, so help is entirely remote.
Who it suits
- South African households insuring a dog, a car, a home, a motorcycle or a life policy under a single insurer.
- Pet owners who want to log a claim through the online Manage Portal, phone or email: online Manage Portal, phone and email.
- Anyone who prefers premiums paid monthly rather than settled together: monthly.
Who should look elsewhere
- bunq, for anyone who wants everyday banking rather than personal insurance, since Dotsure is an insurer: insurer.
- Linxea, for a life policy on its own from €25, where Dotsure starts at ZAR 99 and covers pet, auto, home, motorcycle and life: pet, auto and home.
Deposit protection
Dotsure is an insurer, so the cover sits with the company that carries the risk rather than with a broker or a comparison site. It appears in the South African authorised financial services provider register as FSP44793, and the regulator's name is not stated.
The company behind it
Cover is written by the legal entity Dotsure Limited (Registration number 2006/000723/06), which is based in South Africa. Customer support runs on phone, email and help centre, so a help centre sits alongside phone and email. The brand also appears in the South African authorised financial services provider register, where the entry shows as FSP44793 and the regulator's name is not stated.
How dotsure.co.za compares
9.2 vs 8.6
9.2 vs 9.49.2 vs 9.3
9.2 vs 9.4
9.2 vs 8.79.2 vs 8.5
9.2 vs 9.4
9.2 vs 8.7
9.2 vs 9.09.2 vs 8.7
9.2 vs 9.4
9.2 vs 9.29.2 vs 9.4
9.2 vs 9.4
9.2 vs 9.4- 9.2 vs 8.7
Linxea concentrates on life cover starting at €25, where Dotsure spreads its cover across pet, auto, home, motorcycle and life: pet, auto and home.
9.2 vs 9.0
9.2 vs 8.8bunq lists a starting premium of €0 and sits in banking rather than the personal insurance lines Dotsure sells: pet, auto and home.
9.2 vs 8.9
9.2 vs 8.9
9.2 vs 9.0
9.2 vs 8.3
9.2 vs 9.59.2 vs 9.4
9.2 vs 9.4
9.2 vs 9.4
9.2 vs 9.39.2 vs 9.3
9.2 vs 9.3
9.2 vs 9.3
9.2 vs 9.3
9.2 vs 9.39.2 vs 9.2
9.2 vs 9.2
9.2 vs 9.29.2 vs 9.2
9.2 vs 9.1
9.2 vs 9.1
9.2 vs 9.1
9.2 vs 9.19.2 vs 9.1
9.2 vs 9.1
9.2 vs 9.0
9.2 vs 9.0
9.2 vs 9.0
9.2 vs 9.0
9.2 vs 9.0
9.2 vs 8.9
9.2 vs 8.9
9.2 vs 8.9- 9.2 vs 8.6
9.2 vs 8.6
9.2 vs 8.5
9.2 vs 8.4
9.2 vs 8.39.2 vs 8.3
9.2 vs 8.2- 9.2 vs 8.0
Where dotsure.co.za is available
- Available
- South Africa
- Licence in South Africa
- Not named on page (South African authorised financial services provider register) (FSP44793), checked September 26, 2026
Countries from the brand (Source, checked September 26, 2026)
Frequently asked questions
What does Dotsure insure?+
Its listed cover runs to pet, auto, home, motorcycle and life policies: pet, auto and home. The business is an insurer rather than a broker, so the policy sits with the company that carries the risk: insurer. Monthly payments are available on the pet policies.
How much does the cheapest Dotsure policy cost?+
Pet cover on the dog policy is the cheapest entry point, starting at ZAR 99. That sits above the €8.31 median starting premium across the brands compared here, and the brand ranks 100 of 251 on starting premium. The figure is a starting price, not a quote for every pet.
Can I pay monthly?+
Yes. Monthly payments are available, and the listed pricing model is monthly, so there is no annual bill to fund up front: monthly. Budgets run in the same currency as the premium, and the monthly structure is listed for the pet policy, so other cover is set on quote.
What is the excess on pet cover?+
On the dog policy the excess starts at ZAR 2,000, which is the part of a claim that stays with the policyholder. A pet policy is judged on that figure as much as on the monthly amount, so it is worth setting it against the monthly budget before choosing cover for a dog.
How do I make a claim?+
Claims can be raised and handled through the online Manage Portal, by phone or by email: online Manage Portal, phone and email. That mix means a claim can be logged without phoning during office hours, while the phone line stays open for anything urgent. Policy questions go to phone, email and help centre.
How do I contact Dotsure?+
Support runs on phone, email and help centre, which pairs a phone line and email with a self serve help centre. Claims travel on a slightly different set of routes, since the online Manage Portal sits alongside phone and email for pet cover.
Is Dotsure regulated?+
Dotsure appears in the South African authorised financial services provider register under FSP44793. The regulator's own name is not stated, so the entry is the only handle on the registration. The operating company is Dotsure Limited (Registration number 2006/000723/06).
Where is Dotsure based, and who can buy car cover?+
The business sits in South Africa, so premiums, cover and claims all run through South Africa. Car cover is open to Drivers 20 to 80 years old, which sets the driver band accepted. Pet, auto, home, motorcycle and life are the listed lines: pet, auto and home.
Sources
- dotsure.co.za checked September 26, 2026
Backs: Provider type, Insurance types, Legal entity, Licences
“refers to Dotsure Limited (Registration number 2006/000723/06) (FSP39925) and Dotsure Life Limited (Registration number 2012/066504/06) (FSP44793), licensed as non-life and life insurers respectively...”
- dotsure.co.za/car-insurance checked September 26, 2026
Backs: Age range
“Driver must be at least 20 years old; Driver can't be older than 80 years old”
- dotsure.co.za/personal-cover checked September 26, 2026
Backs: Headquarters
“Our head office is based in George in the Western Cape but we are more than capable of meeting your needs across the country”
- dotsure.co.za/pet-insurance checked September 26, 2026
Backs: Claims channels, Support channels
“You can submit your claim on the 24/7 Manage Portal; please call us on 0861 368 7873 or email u2us@dotsure.co.za”
- dotsure.co.za/pet-insurance-dog checked September 26, 2026
Backs: Excess from, Pricing model, Monthly payments, Premium from
“Excess R2,000”
Compiled from 5 source pages, checked September 26, 2026. We did not open an account.
dotsure.co.za
Households wanting pet, car, home, motorcycle and life cover from a single South African insurer on monthly payments.