Unison review
Updated September 30, 2026 · SumCue Editorial Team · Facts checked September 30, 2026
We earn a commission when you sign up through links on this site. Partner status can affect where a brand appears in our rankings. Partners with a live offer in your country come first, then every other brand by score.
Our verdict
Unison suits buyers and owners seeking home equity support through a direct lender model for purchase and home equity needs. Typical initial rates across ranked mortgages sit at 4.56%, while Unison focuses on purchase and home equity use cases for planned borrowing.
Key facts
- Best for
- Buyers and owners planning purchase or home equity borrowing
- Purpose
- Purchase, Home-equity↗
- Lender type
- Direct lender↗
- Official website
- unison.com
Facts checked September 30, 2026, 1 source
Pros and cons
Pros
- Direct lender structure centred on direct lender for borrowing arranged with Unison itself
- Stated cover for purchase and home equity needs under purchase and home equity for buyers and owners
- Comparison context with ranked median maximum loan to value at 90%
Cons
- Purpose focus stays narrow at purchase and home equity, while remortgage cover across ranked mortgages stands at 58%
- Buy to let cover is not stated within purchase and home equity, while ranked mortgages show buy to let share at 24%
Ready to try Unison?
Who it suits
- Buyers seeking purchase support through direct lender within purchase and home equity
- Owners planning to use home equity under purchase and home equity for property linked borrowing
Who should look elsewhere
- Borrowers seeking remortgage cover, which sits outside purchase and home equity while ranked share stands at 58%
- Borrowers seeking buy to let options, which sit outside purchase and home equity while ranked share stands at 24%
How Unison compares
Frequently asked questions
What does Unison offer?+
Unison operates as a direct lender for mortgage related borrowing linked to property. Its stated purposes cover purchase and home equity under purchase and home equity. Ranked mortgages show broad purchase coverage at 94%, so Unison sits within a familiar purchase focused group for buyers and owners.
Is Unison a direct lender or a broker?+
Unison is listed as a direct lender through direct lender, which means borrowing is arranged with Unison itself rather than through intermediation. Across ranked mortgages, direct lenders account for 73.5%, while brokers account for 26.5%. That places Unison in the larger lender group by share.
Does Unison support purchase borrowing?+
Yes, purchase is a stated purpose for Unison under purchase and home equity. That aligns with ranked mortgages where purchase coverage stands at 94%. If your plan centres on buying a property rather than refinancing or letting, Unison matches that core need within its stated scope.
Does Unison support home equity borrowing?+
Yes, home equity is a stated purpose for Unison alongside purchase under purchase and home equity. Across ranked mortgages, home equity coverage stands at 18%. That makes Unison relevant for owners seeking to draw on existing property value rather than buyers alone.
How do initial rates compare for ranked mortgages?+
Unison does not publish a separate initial rate in the available facts, so comparison rests on ranked mortgages. The median initial rate across ranked mortgages is 4.56%, with the lower quartile at 3.71% and the upper quartile at 6.87%. Use those bands to frame expectations before seeking terms.
What loan to value levels appear across ranked mortgages?+
Maximum loan to value is not stated for Unison in the available facts. Across ranked mortgages, the median maximum loan to value is 90%, with the lower quartile at 85% and the upper quartile at 95%. Those levels help you gauge deposit needs when comparing purchase options.
Sources
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unison_Home_Ownership_Investors checked September 30, 2026
Backs: Lender type, Purpose
“an investor provides funds in exchange for a contractual share”
Compiled from 1 source page, checked September 30, 2026. We did not open an account.
Not confirmed yet: Initial rate, APRC, Fixed period, Maximum loan to value.
Related by the facts
Unison
Buyers and owners planning purchase or home equity borrowing