ASA Microfinance Sierra Leone review
Updated September 28, 2026 · SumCue Editorial Team · Facts checked September 26, 2026
We earn a commission when you sign up through links on this site. Partner status can affect where a brand appears in our rankings. Partners with a live offer in your country come first, then every other brand by score.
Our verdict
ASA Microfinance Sierra Leone is a direct lender in Sierra Leone for female entrepreneurs and small business owners with collateral. Loans run 6 to 8, a first loan is processed in 1 week processing time for 1st loan, and the processing charge has no published figure.
Key facts
- Best for
- Female entrepreneurs and small business owners in Sierra Leone who can pledge collateral.
- Loan amount
- SLL 1,000,000 to SLL 50,000,000↗
- Term
- 6 to 8 months↗
- Arrangement fee
- Loan processing fees applicable (amount not disclosed)↗
- Funding time
- 1 week processing time for 1st loan↗
- Lender type
- Direct lender↗
- Eligibility
- Age 18-60 (small loans, female entrepreneurs only); age 25-55 (small business loan, male and female); collateral required↗
- Loan types
- Personal, Business↗
- Legal entity
- ASA Microfinance Sierra Leone Limited↗
- Headquarters
- Sierra Leone↗
- Founded
- 2015↗
- Support channels
- Email, Phone↗
- Official website
- sierraleone.asa-international.com
Facts checked September 26, 2026, 4 sources
Pros and cons
Pros
- It is a direct lender, so ASA Microfinance Sierra Leone Limited sets the terms and no broker sits in the middle.
- Loan sizes of SLL 1,000,000 to SLL 50,000,000 with repayment terms of 6 to 8.
- A first loan is processed in 1 week processing time for 1st loan, so the waiting period is short and stated.
- Lending in Sierra Leone since 2015, covering both personal and business loans.
Cons
- Collateral is required under the eligibility conditions, so the loan only works if you hold assets to pledge.
- Support runs on email and phone only, so no branch, app or chat route is listed.
- The cost is hard to price in advance: Loan processing fees applicable (amount not disclosed) is charged and no figure is published.
Who it suits
- Female entrepreneurs in Sierra Leone seeking a first small loan, where only female applicants qualify for small loans.
- Small business owners, men and women, who can meet the eligibility conditions and offer collateral.
- Borrowers who prefer to deal with the lender itself, ASA Microfinance Sierra Leone Limited, rather than go through a broker.
Who should look elsewhere
- Borrowers elsewhere who want euro or peso lending: Cashspace lends PHP 500 to PHP 25,000 and Sofkredit lends €12,000 to €300,000.
- Anyone who needs the full cost up front, since Loan processing fees applicable (amount not disclosed) carries no published figure.
- Borrowers with nothing to pledge, because the eligibility conditions ask for collateral.
How ASA Microfinance Sierra Leone compares
8.9 vs 9.0
8.9 vs 9.4
8.9 vs 9.48.9 vs 9.4
8.9 vs 8.5
8.9 vs 9.48.9 vs 9.3
8.9 vs 8.78.9 vs 8.9
8.9 vs 8.1
8.9 vs 8.7Sofkredit lends €12,000 to €300,000, a much larger euro range for borrowers wanting long personal finance elsewhere.
8.9 vs 9.28.9 vs 8.7
8.9 vs 9.3
8.9 vs 9.0
8.9 vs 9.08.9 vs 9.0
8.9 vs 9.0
8.9 vs 9.4
8.9 vs 9.48.9 vs 9.1
8.9 vs 8.9
8.9 vs 8.98.9 vs 9.2
8.9 vs 9.08.9 vs 8.6
8.9 vs 8.5
8.9 vs 8.9
8.9 vs 8.3
8.9 vs 9.5
8.9 vs 9.5
8.9 vs 9.4- 8.9 vs 9.4
8.9 vs 9.4
8.9 vs 9.3
8.9 vs 9.3
8.9 vs 9.3
8.9 vs 9.3
8.9 vs 9.3
8.9 vs 9.38.9 vs 9.3
8.9 vs 9.28.9 vs 9.2
8.9 vs 9.2
8.9 vs 9.28.9 vs 9.2
8.9 vs 9.2
8.9 vs 9.1
8.9 vs 9.1
8.9 vs 9.1
8.9 vs 9.1
8.9 vs 9.1
8.9 vs 9.1
8.9 vs 9.1
8.9 vs 9.0
8.9 vs 9.0
8.9 vs 9.0
8.9 vs 9.08.9 vs 9.0
8.9 vs 9.0
8.9 vs 9.08.9 vs 9.0
8.9 vs 9.0
8.9 vs 9.0
8.9 vs 8.9
8.9 vs 8.9- 8.9 vs 8.8
- 8.9 vs 8.8
8.9 vs 8.88.9 vs 8.7
8.9 vs 8.6
8.9 vs 8.5
8.9 vs 8.58.9 vs 8.5
8.9 vs 8.4
8.9 vs 8.2
8.9 vs 8.18.9 vs 8.0
- 8.9 vs 8.0
Where ASA Microfinance Sierra Leone is available
- Available
- Sierra Leone
Countries from the brand (Source, checked September 26, 2026)
Frequently asked questions
How much can I borrow?+
You can borrow SLL 1,000,000 to SLL 50,000,000, and terms run 6 to 8 on repayment. The business loan is open to men and women, while the small loan is reserved for female entrepreneurs, so the same band covers a first personal request and a working capital request.
What will the loan cost me?+
Loan processing costs apply, and Loan processing fees applicable (amount not disclosed) is charged without a published figure. That is the number to weigh before signing, along with the repayment term of 6 to 8, since a short term can still leave a heavy bill if the processing charge is large.
Who can apply for a loan?+
Small loans are for female entrepreneurs only, and the small business loan is open to men and women. Collateral is required in both cases, and applications are handled by ASA Microfinance Sierra Leone Limited, which has lent in Sierra Leone since 2015.
How long does it take to get the money?+
Processing takes 1 week processing time for 1st loan, so a first loan is a planned request rather than an emergency one. Apply with the amount and the term settled in advance, since the repayment window is 6 to 8 and the processing charge sits on top of the balance.
How do I reach a person about my application?+
Support runs on email and phone, so email and phone are the routes for questions. No branch, app or chat channel is listed, which makes it worth writing down your questions before you call and keeping the answers to the terms you agreed.
Do I borrow from the lender or through a broker?+
You borrow from the lender itself, a direct lender, and ASA Microfinance Sierra Leone Limited is the company behind the loans, so your application questions go to one place. There is no separate broker to approach for the same amount.
How does this compare with lenders in other markets?+
ASA Microfinance Sierra Leone lends SLL 1,000,000 to SLL 50,000,000 in Sierra Leone, while Cashspace lends PHP 500 to PHP 25,000 and Sofkredit lends €12,000 to €300,000. Those figures are quoted in their own currencies, so a side by side read is about market and collateral rather than a straight cost comparison.
Sources
- sierraleone.asa-international.com checked September 26, 2026
Backs: Headquarters, Support channels
“64 Lumley Road Wilberforce Village Freetown Sierra Leone”
- sierraleone.asa-international.com/about-us/at-a-glance checked September 26, 2026
Backs: Founded, Legal entity, Lender type
“incorporated under The Companies Act, No. 05 of 2009 with the Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC), Sierra Leone, in May 2015 (Registration No. C.F. 001537)”
- sierraleone.asa-international.com/business-model checked September 26, 2026
Backs: Loan types
“We offer three types of loans: 1. Small loan (23 weeks) 2. Small loan (30 weeks) 3. Small business loan”
- sierraleone.asa-international.com/loans/small-loan-23-weeks checked September 26, 2026
Backs: Loan amount, Eligibility, Funding time, Arrangement fee, Term
“Loan ceiling (1st loan) SLL 1,000,000 to 2,000,000; Small business loan Loan ceiling (1st loan) SLL 4,000,000 - 50,000,000”
Compiled from 4 source pages, checked September 26, 2026. We did not open an account.
Not confirmed yet: APR, Credit check, Representative example.
ASA Microfinance Sierra Leone
Female entrepreneurs and small business owners in Sierra Leone who can pledge collateral.